Click the thumbnails to enlarge.

Maude Kerns Art Center Presents
Photography at Oregon:
Commitment to Vision

Exhibit Dates
May 20 - June 24, 2016

Opening Reception:
Friday, May 20, 6 - 8pm

The Maude Kerns Art Center is honored to present “Photography at Oregon Commitment to Vision: 50th Anniversary Retrospective Exhibit,” featuring photographs by over 80 artists who have participated in Photography at Oregon (PAO) exhibits over the past 50 years. The “Photography at Oregon Commitment to Vision Exhibit” opens with a public reception on Friday, May 20, from 6 – 8 pm, and is on display through Friday, June 24.

Among the many photographers featured are such well-known artists as Ansel Adams, Brett Weston, Minor White, Brian Lanker, Barbara Morgan, Stu Levy, Howard Bond, Mary Ellen Mark, Lou Stoumen, and Christopher Burkett. This PAO Retrospective showcases an important, five-decades-long photographic legacy.

Photography at Oregon was established in 1966, the brainchild of University of Oregon Professor Bernard Freemesser. The Photography at Oregon Gallery at the University of Oregon Museum of Art (now the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art) was one of the first university photography galleries on the West Coast. Freemesser, who organized the exhibits at the gallery, introduced students and the community to a wide variety of photographic approaches by featuring the work of local, regional, and national photographers. His dedication helped raise the stature of fine photography as a valuable art form.

PAO operated a gallery at the University of Oregon Museum of Art until 1992 and returned briefly to the museum from 2005 – 2009. In recent years PAO has maintained its commitment to its original vision by presenting fine art photography exhibits, lectures, and workshops in various venues in the Eugene-Springfield area as an independent nonprofit organization.

A Panel Talk and Exhibit Tour in conjunction with “Commitment to Vision” takes place at the Art Center on Thursday, June 2, 6:00 – 7:30 pm. Panel participants include PAO Chair Susie Morrill, George Beltran, Paul Neevel, and David Turner.